Dear Elsie

Postcards to my Grandmother

Postcard 280

Why are these men so casually dressed?

Front WW100-Logo_Process

Two men sit at a small table in a studio. The wear jumpers and slacks and dusty looking shoes. They hold books as well. They wear military hats but the hats have no regiment badges.

295 Postcard front

Back

Headed Post card with a divided back. The left side is labelled: correspondence and the right: address.

295 Postcard back

Transcription

Blank.

Commentary

I assume the men in this photo are soldiers because of their headwear yet they appear quite casually dressed otherwise. Most of the portraits of soldiers I’ve seen, especially when they are posed in a studio, have the soldiers very smartly dressed. I’m also surprised at the apparently dusty nature of the footwear. There is something about this photograph which does not seem right. However, I do not know who these men are and I may be wrong.

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 10, 2014 by in Blank, Postcards and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .