Dear Elsie

Postcards to my Grandmother

Postcard 283

“22 Reinforcements F Company”

FrontWW100-Logo_Process

Twenty-eight soldiers pose for a photograph in front of the open doors of a large building. Above them on the door is written F Coy.

300 Postcard front

Back

The back contains no markings.

300 Postcard back

Transcription

Blank.

Commentary

I can only assume this is a photo of F Company. Victor Record Field embarked with 32nd Reinforcements F Company. Is he in this photo or is it Raynal Hubbard embarked with the 22 Reinforcements F Company? I can just make out one badge on one of the buglers which appears to have the number 22 on it. I think it is Ray at the very right-hand end of the middle standing row.

I love the variety of poses in this photo from the very formal and still to the casually relaxed. I also enjoy the strength of the friendships hinted at with hands on shoulders of other men.

Leave a comment